Album Review: No Shame – Sarah De Bono

Sarah De Bono was a contestant on the first Australian season of Channel 9’s The Voice, and also one of the final 4, unfortunately she didn’t take out top spot but she still managed to secure a record deal with Universal  and her debut single ‘No Shame’ was released on June 29, her debut album of the same name followed on July 13.

Beautiful is a De Bono original release that was debuted on The Voice, June 25 saw it chart at number four on the ARIA Singles Chart and certified gold for the sale of 35,000 copies.

No Shame contains tracks performed on The Voice as well as Sarah De Bono originals and newly recorded covers. It’s an album that I have listened to on repeat well and truly more times than I usually would but I’m quite enjoying it. Sarah De Bono has an edgy raw power that is going to assist her throughout her career.

Many of the tracks on the album are quite contemporary so it is extremely easy to get caught up singing along. The album opens with the Jessie J hit Price Tag followed by Gossip’s Heavy Cross and Beyonce’s Listen.

sarah de bono

To go a little further back and pay tribute to a lost diva we have a soulful rendition of How Will I Know, made famous by Whitney Houston, Here’s Where I Stand and If I Didn’t Love you.

To close out the album are Burn and Warwick Avenue, two new covers not performed on The Voice. Also present are the original track Beautiful and No Shame, which would have been her winners single.

Sarah De Bono has also been announced to open for Kelly Clarkson on the Australian leg of her Stronger tour in September and October of 2012.

Sarah De Bono has a voice that embraces a wide range of styles and notes, it is unusual enough to grab your attention and that shock of red hair is nothing if not eye catching. She may not have taken top spot but she’s my top choice and No Shame has definitely earned some serious play time in my house of late.

This debut may do very well, a part of that could be it’s release so close to the show finale but personally, I’m waiting for her next release! The one she has control over!

Check out Sarah De Bono – I think you’ll be pleased you did.

Track Listing:

1.  Price Tag
2.  Heavy Cross
3.  Listen
4.  How Will I Know
5.  Here’s Where I Stand
6.  If I Didn’t Love You
7.  Beautiful
8.  No Shame
9.  Burn
10.Warwick Avenue

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *